HOW THIS ALL STARTED

I guess this post is about the time when I decided I wanted to become a veterinarian. I’ve been surrounded by animals my whole life. We’ve owned several dogs, I’ve had a few fish, (R.I.P., my old friend Bob) and my siblings each owned a cat. I’ve also seen death at its worst. The fish I took care of every day died, my younger brother’s cat was killed, and one of our dogs slaughtered two of our others, which resulted in her having to be put down. I have been around a lot of animals, and a lot of death also, yet none of it has stopped me from wanting to become a veterinarian.

I first became seriously involved with animals when we purchased a batch of chicks from Atwoods when I was seven or eight years old. It was my responsibility to go out every day and feed, water, and care for them. Eventually, when I was older, I took some to the fair. It was then I decided I wanted to do dairy goats. It took a long time to convince my father, but he agreed, and I bought two goats as my starting herd. Soon, my herd had grown, and I now have twenty goats. Unfortunately, both of my original goats (Cinnamon and Cream) have died, but their legacy lives on in the memories of the people they met.

It was a few months after Cinnamon was put down I decided I wanted to pursue my desire to become a veterinarian, which involved shadowing in the small town I live in.

I spent the summer of 2016 at the Ouchita Equine Clinic. Dr. Burgess, the veterinarian who owns the practice, is a great teacher and taught me so many things. I learned much while I was there, and I put all of it into my 4H Record Book, which received good remarks from the judges. They told me I should give a speech about everything I learned, and maybe I should…but that can be discussed another time.

This summer, I’ll be spending less time at Dr. Burgess’s because he has hired two other assistants to help him. I’m sure most of my time will be spent watching instead of actually helping, which I did last summer. I’m sure it will be a dramatic change, but I’m prepared to learn more about veterinary science no matter what, even if it means just watching from the sidelines.

Leave a Reply

